Chevron Left
返回到 IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts

學生對 Google 提供的 IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts 的評價和反饋

4.8
18,379 個評分

課程概述

This course covers a wide variety of IT security concepts, tools, and best practices. It introduces threats and attacks and the many ways they can show up. We’ll give you some background of encryption algorithms and how they’re used to safeguard data. Then, we’ll dive into the three As of information security: authentication, authorization, and accounting. We’ll also cover network security solutions, ranging from firewalls to Wifi encryption options. The course is rounded out by putting all these elements together into a multi-layered, in-depth security architecture, followed by recommendations on how to integrate a culture of security into your organization or team. At the end of this course, you’ll understand: ● how various encryption algorithms and techniques work as well as their benefits and limitations. ● various authentication systems and types. ● the difference between authentication and authorization. ● how to evaluate potential risks and recommend ways to reduce risk. ● best practices for securing a network. ● how to help others to grasp security concepts and protect themselves....

熱門審閱

PK

2022年4月9日

Great course for beginners and experts. Easy to understand and a good refresher for those who have been into IT for a long date. Recommend it to everyone looking for a high quality course on coursera.

DS

2018年4月25日

Great course that is full of useful information and presented in an easy to understand way. It's an awesome beginner course that will add to your knowledge and further your knowledge of IT security.

篩選依據:

2601 - IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts 的 2625 個評論(共 3,016 個)

創建者 Richard ( M

2020年11月4日

Thanks Google with the GISC Canada project and this opportunity to go through this course. Our course administrator/Google IT Support Certificate Learning Facilitor is great. As a "young whipper snapper" with a teaching career he has had the energy to put 50 individuals through were help was needed. As well as pivoting to accommodate the year from hell and facilitating methods with COVID this has gone amazingly well. Regards,

Richard (Rick) Medlock

創建者 Gerardo A

2020年9月2日

This course gives you the total picture of what IT Security as a whole and that it shows the every changing nature of why security in IT infrastructure is important even if you have the latest and most expensive technology does not guarantee that your important data and information are safe. I find it very interesting and it really makes you realize how fragile and vulnerable your system if you are not careful and aware of the threats that abound.

創建者 Bernadette S

2022年10月17日

I had to complete this course in three months as per the requirement from the military resource page that I found it on. Thirty weeks of content rolled into three months time is extensive and I would not wish that timeframe on any person. There is alot of useful information to be had and I wish that this course was formulated at a slower pace for people to fully grasp the material that is provided. More hands on labs would also be beneficial.

創建者 Joseph G

2019年7月7日

A thorough foundational course in information security, to be sure. But I did find it a bit difficult to absorb the more intricate material given that it was distributed rapidly through longer (than usual) videos. I personally think that this course, its concepts would be better digested via shorter videos and more in the way of diagrams and other visual aids. I found myself stopping many of the videos and rewinding them just to take notes.

創建者 Christopher M

2019年9月2日

This course is really superb for introducing cybersecurity best practices, though it offers so many different analytical tools that relatively few are looked at in depth and it would benefit from more labs. That said, this course made me more conscious about how I treat security and helped me think analytically about risks that are taken on a given network, which made it very useful. I'm excited to apply this knowledge in a new role!

創建者 Larry R R

2022年12月25日

This was a great course for me. I would have given it 5 stars, however, it is a few years outdated. some of the information is 5 years old and that is old in the technology world. They presented WPA2 as the top wireless protection and we are now using WPA3 for one example. also many of the articles that are for external reading are very dated as well. great course just hope they update some of the content soon for future students.

創建者 Thu B

2019年12月8日

A bit shock at first. So many concepts to absorb at a very short time. My compliment to the team to condense all these complicated concepts into a concise and easily digested content. This course content gave me the essential frame to expand my knowledge in this area. I read some of the documents on the net and really admired the good job the team had done to convey such huge and complex field to us.

創建者 Luis B

2022年3月4日

I really enjoyed this course! One recommendation - please revisit closed captions. Sometimes the closed captions block the demonstrations at the bottom of the video, especially in the lessons demonstrating running a terminal in Linux. Also some closed captions misidentify the lecturers' words and the wrong word is used, which can lead to confusion when the lecturer is teaching a concept. Thanks!!

創建者 Mohamed F A A

2021年4月21日

This is an excellent course that I will recommend to any one who want to work as an IT Support Professionnal and thank you to all contributors indeed. However this course will be more effective with more hands on labs or indicating how to setup a fictive IT Infrastructure for a given organisation using simulator tool such as GNS3 for example.... Good continuation Google in helping people!

創建者 Landon M

2020年11月13日

The one negative of this course is that it is a lot of information just being thrown at you. There are very few ways to actually put the information you learn into practice through labs or other means. This being said, the overall course is great, it teaches you a lot and reinforces information that you may have already had and I would recommend it for anyone that is interested in IT.

創建者 SecureGive

2020年7月1日

It's a great course! I learned a ton, and the presenter did a great job! The only reason I didn't give the course 5 stars is because a lot of topics aren't covered in enough detail to help you really understand them. A lot of topics are given such a high level overview that I had to research the topics on other websites to really understand them. Otherwise, it's a great course!

創建者 Don G M

2019年4月9日

Very informative with a broad range of topics, and nicely explained with smart multiple choice quizzes. However, rather than showing the instructor speaking most of the time, it would be MUCH more helpful if they put up static diagrams or key points on the screen. Some of the content is complex, so diagrams on the screen while he's speaking will help greatly.

創建者 Brooke F

2018年9月11日

This was a pretty interesting course. I really wish there was some more hands on. It was very much theory and concepts with no demonstration on how to implement most of it. Yes there was links to some third party, or open source, programs that could help with secure, but no real world how to implement or do anything. I did learn a lot though.

創建者 Martin D

2019年5月5日

Pro: Lots of good information. Has definitely motivated me to learn more about this important subject. I really liked having the transcript available.

Con: Hands on labs are good, but they seemed a bit superficial. Would have been nice to have multiple presenters, perhaps teach various concepts through interviews with expert practitioners.

創建者 David T

2021年11月9日

Very broad overview of Computer Security Tools and Techniques, but not enough depth to attain a working knowledge of any of the itemes presented, just an understanding of what they do. As an experienced computer programmer I found the class to be way to easy, but perhaps I should have selected a harder course!

創建者 Dean L

2021年8月8日

A very broad introduction to network security. Would have liked more visual aids when talking about the complex way that different servers work. Missed doing the labs like the previous course: IT Systems Administration. Was a great way for me to level up my knowledge. I had to really study to take it all in

創建者 Justin T

2018年7月13日

This course didn't teach about how viruses are made or anything like that. I does teach about which and how many systems are needed to properly protect other systems from malicious attacks. As such, it teaches a lot of terms and names of systems. It was a struggle to get through but commit and it will happen!

創建者 Jeffery R

2018年10月27日

The final peer-reviewed project is a boondoggle. It throws you in blind. The grading rubric adds in concepts not mentioned in the prompt. I felt bad for marking my peers down in points for this reason. The sample is locked until after the assignment is completed, which makes it almost completely useless.

創建者 angelo e

2022年8月26日

The course was very imformative, although some topic felt like they needed to be divided up a little more for clarities sake. Cause some topics are to technical especially for new learners. Some videos that were to long just needed to be divided up to make the subject more clearer and easier to understand.

創建者 Frank L

2019年7月17日

I enjoyed this course and thought it was very thorough. My only suggestion would be to improve some of the aspects of being able to move on or view locked items. For instance, I couldn't view a final project sample until I already submitted my final project. So I didn't have as much reference.

創建者 David M

2019年8月30日

This covered a lot of dense concepts in a very approachable way, and I feel like I learned a lot! It could be improved by having more hands-on learning through labs, and I felt the final project could have been more challenging (I put a lot of thought into it, but you automatically get %100)

創建者 Rizalito C

2020年5月4日

The course was very informative and well designed for beginners and the like. I would definitely recommend this course to friends and family. and the Instructor was definitely knowledgeable about the subject matter. Thanks for making this course available for individuals like myself.

創建者 Andre M

2023年1月23日

There were few glitches and a couple of spots where the correct response was marked as wrong or where the multiple-choice selections didn't match the question. And overall the course needs to be updated since a lot of the info is from as far back as 2017. But still a great foundation

創建者 Brent F

2022年11月15日

This course was great. It was easy to follow, the lectures were short and easy to take in small increments. the only issues I had was trying to translate quizzes from Russian to English so I could complete them, and the support team was unable to figure out why that was occurring.

創建者 Zohra G

2020年11月27日

This course my dream which 6-8 years I had it unfortunately I have not had access to it. Even though I changed my career but after my dream came true I could not wait I kept continuing to learn that streaming granted an opportunity. Thank you Google and Coursera!!!